top of page

To My Autistic Brother

To my autistic brother,

Let me tell YOU why you're amazing.

I don't know how you do it. It is impossible for me to imagine what your life is like, for any of us to imagine. Your brain functions differently to mine, we think differently. We are different, but I will always love you. You are my brother.

We argue. We fight from time to time - maybe you never turn the light off when you leave the room, or shut the cupboard door. But this doesn't mean that I don't love you, because I know how hard it must be. You don't fit in at school, but you don't let it get to you. You don't have dozens of friends, but those you do have you trust and know that they love you. You and I both know that people talk behind your back - but this doesn't bother you. You are very strong. Stronger than I could ever be.

You deal with stereotypes - "you are dumb" "you are retarded"... It hurts me. I don't know how it doesn't hurt you. You accept it, you move on and you prove people wrong. We are told in society that a disability will forever restrict you from "living life", yet I have seen you do things that I know will one day change the world. YOU will change the world, I know it.

People don't get it. People look at you when we walk down the street. You don't see it, but I look back. Always. I want to protect you, and it breaks my heart to know that I can't. It breaks my heart to know that at our separate schools, kids pick on you. It breaks my heart to know that even people in positions of power don't understand you.

You have a "disability". You suffer from "restrictions on your ability to participate in what is considered normal in everyday society". But this is just a word, a word that we use to describe the way in which your brain functions. Remember, this is not what defines you. You are what defines you.

You are incredible. You have made me the person I am today - I never would be me, without you. And in the best way. You teach me tolerance, kindness and love. And for that, I love you.

Love,

Edi.

Please note: This letter is inspired by Katie Corken, who wrote a similar post titled "Dear Sibling to a Child with Special Needs, Let Me Tell You Why You're Special". View Katie's post here: https://themighty.com/2014/12/a-letter-to-special-needs-siblings/


bottom of page